175 East Illinois Road

Year of award: 
2018
Award category: 
Preservation
Original architect: 
Henry Lord Gay
Year built: 
1910
Restoration architect: 
Frank Kleitsch

An earlier frame church was demolished and replaced by this impressive brick and stone structure. Architect Henry Lord Gay’s St. Mary's is a blend of Roman motifs (pediments, nave, and window arches), Gothic accents (buttressed towers and some limestone details, and large pediment over a centered entry), and early American elements (round window in west tower and limestone-detailed window surrounds). The result has been for over a century a uniquely classic Roman Catholic Church for Lake Forest parishioners. Carefully restored and maintained over the years, the most recent work involved modernizing the clear plastic protection for the beautiful stained-glass windows and restoring the north entry facade and terrace.