Archive

A Farewell to Old Main

For over 100 years Old Main stood upon a hill with a sweeping lawn spread before it, the iconic image that defined an entrance to Lake Forest. Here is where the Religious of the Sacred Heart came in 1904 to erect what Arthur Miller has described as an American Colonial Revival country place, a commanding edifice to house an academy for young women. Four years later Barat College was established and occupied the south wing of the building. Read more »

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Archive